mark 2Welcome to our website

We were the first and we are still the largest Rotary club in the Northern Territory.

We have always been very active both in the community and in international projects, most of which are ‘hands on’, requiring a significant level of commitment by members. However, you will probably hear a lot more laughs at our regular Thursday evening meetings than at most other clubs in the country. That’s because we also look at Rotary as fun as well as a community service provider.

We welcome visitors from all over the world on a regular basis and many of our members frequently travel within Australia and overseas.

I encourage you to learn more about us by exploring our award winning website.

Mark Taylor



Articles of Interest

2017 Chocolate Wheel

And so, another year gone.  The 56th Chocolate Wheel[1] has been and gone (except for the cleaning up, pulling down and washing of used shirts and aprons – any volunteers?).

This year saw a slight slowdown on the past few years, due to a number of factors including low attendance by the public at the Show, shortage of sellers on Thursday, and early finish times each night.  Still, a total of 765 spins, compared to 835 last year, is not to be sneezed at, bringing in a healthy return.

Over the three days, we gave away 36 prizes, including 17 bikes, which is a record number. Read more…

Changeover Dinner

Out with the Old – in with the New!

Saturday 03 June 2017. 1800 for 1830. Foreshore Cafe, Nightcliffe. Be there.

And we were, for the changeover of presidency from Mark “Fingers” Taylor to Jeff “Speak Up” Swann.

Over 50 members and guests assembled in the dying hours of the day (sunset for the more pragmatic) to celebrate the end of one Rotary year and to welcome the new.

Members and guests watch the proceedings

And now time for some fellowship

The evening commenced with drinks and canapes in the beautiful evening setting on the lawns of the Foreshore. Scruffy then called us to order to assemble in the dining area, partly indoors, partly out. Here we were welcomed by President Mark who asked  John Hardy, Administrator of the NT, to lead us in Rotary Grace and Loyal Toast, which he did with his usual aplomb (and correctly – no mention of republics).

Then for the main course – grilled medium fillet steak (beautiful) or Grilled Barramundi – OK I guess, being a beefeater.

Then to the formalities.

Mark gave his end-of year report which succinctly covered all our major achievements for 2016-17, with appropriate references to the efforts of individual members.

Mark presents PP Dan with his Paul Harris Fellow certificate and Lapel Badge

He then presented Dan Easton with a Paul Harris Fellow, in recognition of Dan’s high performance during the past few years.

This ceremony was followed by the club’s award for 2016-17 of the Sid Lauder Award – Rotarian of the Year which Mark presented to Ian Jackson.


Ian with the Sid Lauder Award



Then the big moment.  MC for the evening, Scruffy, introduced the President-Elect, Jeff Swann, to members and guest, before passing the buck to Mark to make the exchange of the Chain of Office. Which he did.

President of Rotary Club of Darwin 2017-18, Jeff Swann.

And Jeff was now THE MAN.

Board of Directors 2017-18 (while David slowly slides off his chair, having slept through proceedings so far).

President Jeff, having worked out how the mike worked, introduced his directors for the new Rotary year, presenting each one with his director’s badge, before addressing members and guests with his directions for his year.

Following a reading of the incoming RI President’s bio, and a toast to RI by John Emslie, the  president declared fellowship time, which coincided with the delivery of sweets to the tables.

After that, it was all over bar the shouting until members started to drift off sometime much later.

Good Night, and a good night.

Ladies Long Lunch 2017

Premium charity event with proceeds supporting the
Menzies School of Health Research’s HealthLAB Project

Ladies Long Lunch
The third spectacular went off last Friday. There were nearly 250 people at the event, somewhat down on the previous years but that is the way with the events around town at the moment.
The venue looked great; blue and white was the go as we strived to throw a little bit of Greek overlay onto the usual fun. The theme was followed through with the food, again with Greek influence and of course with one of our headline acts, Mary Coustas or Effie as she is better known. Read more…

Police Officer of the Year 2017

Nominations for POOTY Award Now Open

The annual Police Officer of the Year Award (POOTY) was established in 1991 by the Rotary Club of Darwin to recognise the challenges police officers face and say a public thank you for a job well done. The Award involves receiving nominations from the community identifying Northern Territory Police Officers in their community who have shown any of the following values.

Courtesy, kindness, understanding, compassion, courage and devotion to duty are key qualities required in police officers in their normal duties and the nomination can be for one or more of these that the officer has shown in a particular act, a series of acts, or demonstrated ongoing professionalism. Any full-time police officer working in any area of the Northern Territory police force is eligible for nomination.

Nominations for the 2017 Police Officer of the Year are now open and will close Sunday 31st July.   You can download the form nomination form or complete a nomination form online here

POOTY Award 2016

NT Administrator John Hardy presents POOTY Award to Remote Sergeant Cherie Gaffney

The 2016 Police Officer of the Year award ceremony was held on Thursday 25th August at Government House. His Honour, the Administrator of the Northern Territory, John Hardy was present and presenting. Of course Marie was there to keep him on track as well.
The recipient for this year was Remote Sergeant Cherie Gaffney. She is the 25th recipient and by the recommendations and accounts given she is very worthy of the award. Sergeant Gaffney joined the NT Police in June 2015 after having served in the Victoria Police for four years. She is based in Lajamanu which is approximately 560km south west of Katherine. She is one of the younger winners of the award and has only been based there a year, however, she has had such an impact that the community made many efforts to make sure she received recognition for her work.

View All Posts